House forms committee to look into Finance Minister Janardan Sharma’s alleged irregularities

Kathmandu, July 6

The House of Representatives on Wednesday formed a special committee to look into the charges labelled against Finance Minister Janardan Sharma that he tampered with tax rates for the new fiscal year 2022/23 under the pressure of unauthorised persons.

Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota announced the formation of the committee during the House meeting this afternoon, and the House approved it unanimously.

The 11-member committee has been asked to submit its report in the next 10 days.

Here is the list of the members:

  1. Khaga Raj Adhikari
  2. Dev Gurung
  3. Pushpa Bhusal
  4. Pradeep Gyawali
  5. Bhanubhakta Dhakal
  6. Bimala BK
  7. Laxman Lal Karna
  8. Shakti Basnet
  9. Sarala Yadav
  10. Sita Ram Mahato
  11. Surendra Yadav

Meanwhile, after the formation of the committee, Janardan Sharma said he resigned from the position to pave way for the investigation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *