Cabinet reshuffle: Deuba approves Unified Socialist’s team change plan after 3 weeks

Kathmandu, June 26

President Bidya Devi Bhandari has reshuffled the cabinet on Sunday evening. The cabinet reshuffle brings four new members into the council of ministers.

According to the President’s Office, the following new ministers have been appointed as recommended by Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba in the cabinet reshuffle decided on Sunday.

SN Position New minister nominated Outgoing minister
1 Minister for Health Bhawani Khapung Birodh Khatiwada
2 Minister for Culture and Tourism Jeevan Ram Shrestha Prem Ale
3 Minister for Urban Development Metmani Chaudhary Ram Kumari Jhakri
4 Minister for Labour and Employment Sher Bahadur Kunwar Krishna Kumar Shrestha
5 State Minister for Health Hira Chandra KC Bhawani Khapung

Of them, Health Minister Khapung is not a new face as he was working as the state minister for the same ministry.

Earlier, on June 5, the CPN-Unified Socialist had decided to recall its five leaders from the cabinet and send new ones to replace them.

The decision was put on hold citing the House of Representatives was discussing the new budget plan. After the endorsement of the document, the party was piling pressure on Deuba to effect the change.

Accordingly, two ministers of the party had resigned today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *