Govt bans strikes in 25 essential service sectors. Here’s the list

Kathmandu, June 10

The government has barred workers and other stakeholders from carrying out strikes and obstructing services in 25 essential service sectors.

The Ministry of Home Affairs on Friday issued a notice on the official gazette, banning the strikes in these sectors, by using the powers given by section 3.1 of the Essential Services Operation Act, 1987.

Here is the list:

  1. Postal services and telecommunications
  2. Transport services
  3. Aviation services
  4. Supplies related to air-ground, railway stations and government warehouses
  5. Printing services
  6. Arms and ammunition and defence services
  7. Communications
  8. Domestic security
  9. Drinking water distribution
  10. Tourism businesses
  11. Petroleum and LPG supplies
  12. Hospitals and health services
  13. Medicine manufacturing and distribution
  14. Waste collection, transport, processing and disposal and related services
  15. Banking
  16. Insurance
  17. Electricity
  18. Daily consumable supplies
  19. Weather forecasts
  20. Mask-related services
  21. Services related to hand sanitiser
  22. Veterinary services
  23. Consular services
  24. Passport services
  25. Internet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *