President Bidya Devi Bhandari confers decorations as announced on Constitution Day

Kathmandu, April 14

President Bidya Devi Bhandari today decorated distinguished persons, civil servants and individuals from the social sector with various decorations and titles which were announced on the occasion of the Constitution Day (National Day) in September 2021.

The president had announced these decorations and titles on the occasion of the Constitution Day on September 19, 2021, and on the recommendation of the government.

Accordingly, former prime minister Krishna Prasad Bhattarai has been posthumously conferred with the title Nepal Ratna, former chairman of the Council of Ministers Subarna Shumsher Rana (posthumously) and former prime minister Jhal Nath Khanal with the title Rastra Gaurav and the politicians Tulsi Lal Amatya (posthumously), Mangala Devi Singh (posthumously) and Mohan Chandra Adhikari, the democracy fighter Durga Nanda Jha and noted singer and musician Narayan Gopal Guruwacharya, all posthumously, with the title Maha Ujjwal Rastra Deep.

Similarly, politicians Pradip Nepal, Posta Bahadur Bogati (posthumously) and Marshal Julum Shakya (posthumously) were decorated with the title Suprasidhdha Prabala Janasewa Shree and Supreme Court justice Bishwambhar Prasad Shrestha with the title Ujjwala Kirtimaya Rastradeep.

In total, over 500 people were to be awarded as per the Constitution Day announcement.

Vice President Nanda Bahadur Pun, Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, Acting Chief Justice Deepak Kumar Karki, Speaker of the House of Representatives Agni Prasad Sapkota, National Assembly Chair Ganesh Prasad Timilsina, Home Minister Bal Krishna Khand, among the ministers and high-ranking officials are present at the investiture at the President’s Office, Sheetal Niwas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *