How will the impeachment motion against CJ Rana be moved ahead? | Ratopati

KATHMANDU, March 7: The government has begun processes for moving the impeachment motion registered against the Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher JB Rana.

The House of Representatives (HoR) on Sunday formed an 11-member impeachment recommendation committee. 

The 11-member committee includes four lawmakers of UML, two each of Nepali congress and CPN (Maoist Center), and one each of CPN (Unified Socialist), Janata Samajbadi Party and Loktantrik Samajbadi Party.

The committee will now elect a Chairman and prepare a procedure for investigation and other processes, according to Dr Rojnath Pandey, spokesperson at the secretariat of the federal parliament.

As per the provisions, the committee will have to present its report within three months. 

“The committee will firstly conduct an investigation. The committee can also record statements of both CJ Rana and those who registered the motion,” said Ram Narayan Bidari, senior advocate and former member of the National Assembly.

“After the committee presents their report, the parliamentarians can present their views about the motion and report. Then the motion will be put to a vote” he added.

“It will require a two-third majority to pass the impeachment. If it fails then Rana will be reappointed in the post if his tenure has not expired by then.”

Article 101 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal states that a person who is relieved of office on the passage of a motion of impeachment shall not be entitled to obtain any facility accruing from such office and to be appointed or nominated to any public office in the future.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *